Child Safety Seat Laws Colorado
Motor vehicle crashes kill more kids than any other cause of death - and four out of five car seats are used incorrectly. Make sure you are following the current Colorado car seat law and the safest practices for your child. The best practice may differ from the law. Read our tips below to make sure your child is properly secured.
No. These types of vehicles are exempt from Colorado's child passenger safety laws. However, this does not mean children are any safer traveling in these types of vehicles. It is always the safest option to use car seats and booster seats, even in exempt vehicles.
The Colorado Boating Safety Program is required for individuals who are 14 to 15 years old to lawfully operate a boat in Colorado, but can also be helpful for boaters of all ages or experience levels.
Within Colorado law, he can transition to a booster seat when he has outgrown the manufacturer's height and/or weight recommendation for his current car seat. However, the safest option is to find another car seat with an internal five-point harness that has higher height/weight limits (there are several on the market that have upper harness weight limits to 50, 60 and 70 pounds, and they have higher height allowances also).
Even though the state does not require the use of helmets for motorcycle riders older than 18 years old, wearing one could save your life or help prevent severe head injuries. During 2006, 65% of fatal motorcycle accidents occurred in states without all-rider helmet laws, according to the NHTSA.
The main change, effective Aug. 1, 2011, is the enforcement of the enhanced booster seat law, which states that children up to age 8 must ride in a child restraint (and really, whether that is a booster seat or other child restraint is up to the parent). However, safety experts recommend that children continue using boosters seats until they are 4-feet, 9-inches tall.
The American Academy of Pediatrics and NHTSA have recently stated that infants should be rear-facing up to age 2, but it is not law. Colorado law dictates that infants must ride rear-facing to at least 1 year old and 20 pounds (as a minimum!), and they must be placed in the back seat of the vehicle.
Colorado law requires motorcycle riders and passengers to wear some form of eye protection. The visor on helmets provides the best protection, but goggles or eyeglasses with lenses made from safety glass or plastic offer adequate protection. Also, you should never wear tinted eye protection at night.
RVs are exempt from Colorado's Child Passenger Safety Laws, with the exception of the front-passenger seat. If a child is riding in the front-passenger seat, he/she must abide by all applicable Child Passenger Safety Laws and be properly restrained at all times. It is not recommended to transport anyone in the back of RVs. Car seats cannot be properly installed in the back of an RV due to the vehicle design.
You cannot be pulled over in Colorado for not wearing your seat belt. However, if you're pulled over for a different traffic violation such as speeding or zooming through a stop sign, a seat belt violation will cost you an extra $65 minimum for adults. If your child is unrestrained, you'll be fined $82.