Child Car Seat Rules Usa
Colorado law was updated in 2010 and requires that babies ride in a rear-facing car seat until they are one year of age and at least 20 pounds. Children ages one to four and between 20 and 40 pounds must ride in an appropriate rear- or forward-facing car seat. Children who are over age 4 but under age 8 must ride in a correctly used car seat or a booster car seat. Children who are not required to be in a car seat or booster seat, but are under 16 years old, must be buckled in a seat belt.
Alabama law requires children under the age of 6 be restrained in an appropriate, federally approved car seat or booster seat. Rear-facing car seats are required until at least age 1 and at least 20 pounds. Convertible or forward-facing car seats should be used until the child is at least 5 years old or weighs 40 pounds. Alabama law further requires that children ride in booster seats until at least age 6 and that they use seatbelts until at least age 15. This law was last updated in 2006.
Texas law was updated in 2009. It requires children under age 8 to ride in an appropriate car seat or booster seat unless they are 4'9" tall. You must select the appropriate restraint for your child's height and weight, according to manufacturer recommendations. Additionally, Texas law states that during the operation of the vehicle, the child must be properly secured in the car seat or booster seat according to the instructions of the manufacturer of the safety seat system. Children under age 17 must be buckled into the vehicle with a seat belt.
Updated in 2010, Iowa law states that children up to 6 years old must be properly restrained in a federally approved car seat or booster seat that is appropriate for the child and is installed and used according to manufacturer's instructions. Babies under one-year-old and weighing less than 20 pounds must ride in a rear-facing car seat. From age 6 up to 11, children must use a car seat or the seat belt and must continue using the seat belt until they are 18. Officers may stop vehicles for suspected violations. The misdemeanor fine for violations is $100. Teenage passengers may receive their own citations for not wearing seatbelts.
Massachusetts law requires that all children under age 8 and less than 57 inches tall be properly fastened and secured in a federally approved car seat or booster seat, according to the manufacturer's instructions. Children who are at least 8 years old or taller than 57 inches should use a vehicle seatbelt IF the seatbelt fits properly. Fit is defined as lap belt low and snug across the hips, shoulder belt across mid-chest and shoulder, back and hips against vehicle seat without slouching, knees bent over the edge of the seat and feet flat on the floor and can stay in that position for the entire trip. This law was updated in 2008.