Child Car Seat Rules Usa
New Mexico's law is specific about seat belt fit for children. Properly restrained means that the lap belt sits low across the hips and not on the abdomen, and that the shoulder portion of the seat belt crosses the chest, not the head or neck. When wearing a seat belt, New Mexico state law says properly secured children are able to sit all the way back against the vehicle seat with their knees bent over the seat edge and can stay in the proper position for the entire trip.
While travelling by car in Canada, you must obey the following laws: Drivers must ensure that all children and infants are in a certified safety seat system. All babies under 9 months must be in a rearward facing seat. Infants weighing between 9 and 18kg must be in an appropirate child seat. All other children can use a lap belt.
Violations to these laws are noncriminal, but may result in a fine. Certain medical conditions such as lupus or other autoimmune disorders which require limited exposure to sunlight could be reason for exemption with proper medical documentation.
Michigan law requires children under the age of 4 to ride in a car seat in the rear seat of the vehicle. If all rear seats are occupied by other kids under the age of 4, or there is no rear seat, the child may ride in the front seat and must still be properly restrained in the car seat. Children in rear-facing car seats can only ride in a vehicle seat with a frontal airbag if it is turned off. From age 4 until they are age 8, kids must be properly restrained in a car seat or booster seat. Children who are under age 8 but taller than 4'9" may use the vehicle seat belt. Children ages 8 to 16 must wear a seat belt no matter where in the vehicle they ride.
This law is also known as the Anton Skeen Law, named for a child who died in a rollover crash because, although he was properly restrained by state law at the time, the vehicle seatbelt could not protect him during the crash.
Nevada law states that children under age 6 and 60 pounds ride in a federally approved car seat or booster seat that is appropriate for the child's age and weight. The car seat or booster must be installed and used according to manufacturer's instructions. All other passengers and drivers must wear a seatbelt.
Arkansas laws require that children ages 6 and under, and weighing less than 60 pounds, be properly secured in a federally approved car seat or booster seat. Babies under the age of one and under 20 pounds must ride in a rear-facing car seat. If a child is at least age 6 and at least 60 pounds, but under age 15, Arkansas law requires that the child uses a seat belt.
Ohio law was updated in 2009. It requires children under four years old and under 40 pounds to ride in an appropriate car seat or booster for the child's age and weight. The car seat must be used according to manufacturer's instructions. Children ages four through seven who are less than 4'9" tall must ride in a federally approved booster seat. Children through age 15 must wear a seat belt or be secured in an appropriate child restraint system. The fine is up to $75 per violation.