Child Car Seat Rules Usa
Rhode Island law states that children under age 8 who weigh less than 80 pounds and are less than 57 inches tall must be properly restrained in the rear vehicle seat in an approved car seat or booster seat. All passengers over the age of 8 must be properly restrained in a seatbelt. Children over age 8 who do not yet fit the seatbelt properly may continue to use a booster seat. The fine for a child under age 8 in the front seat or child over age 8 not wearing a seatbelt is $85. A citation for not transporting a child under age 8 in a car seat or booster seat requires a court appearance.
Pennsylvania law requires that children under age 4 ride in a federally approved car seat that is appropriate for the child's age, height and weight. The child restraint must be properly used and secured to the vehicle using a seatbelt or the LATCH system. Children ages 4 to 8 must use a booster seat if they are no longer in a car seat. Pennsylvania law further requires children ages 8 to 18 to use a seatbelt whenever they are in a vehicle, regardless of seating position. The fine for non-compliance is $75.
Updated in 2009, New York law states that children must ride in an appropriate car seat or booster seat until they reach their 8th birthday. Children under age four should be properly secured in a child restraint that is secured to the vehicle with a seat belt or LATCH system. Children under age 16 are required to wear a seatbelt. The state further recommends but does not require, that children remain in a booster seat until they reach 4'9" or 100 lbs and can sit in the adult seat belt properly. You can be pulled over and get a ticket for seatbelt or car seat violations.
Many states now specify that parents must have their children in a properly used car seat or booster seat. There may be a phrase that says the car seat must be properly installed, and the law might reference the manufacturer's instructions as evidence of proper use or installation. Other laws say the child must ride in an "appropriate" car seat for the child's age and weight, meaning you're using it for a child who fits within the labeled weight, height, and age.
Delaware law states that children through age seven or under 65 pounds be properly restrained in an approved car seat or booster seat appropriate for the child's age, weight, and height. Children ages 8 through 15 must be properly buckled in a seat belt. Also, children under age 12 or under 65 inches tall must sit in the back seat if there is an active airbag in the front passenger seat. The fine for violations is $25.
Mississippi law requires that all children under 4 years of age ride in a car seat. Children ages 4 to 7 must use a child restraint system that meets their age and weight requirements, regardless of where in the vehicle they sit. All drivers and front seat passengers are required to wear a seat belt in Mississippi. The fine for violations is $25.