Child Car Seat Rules Usa
California: Children must be in an appropriate child seat or restraint until they are at least 6 years old or weigh at least 60lbs. If the child weighs more than 40lbs they can use a lap belt in the rear of a car, if lap and shoulder belts aren't available. Children over 6 years or weighing more than 60lbs must be restrained, but an adult belt may be used.
Nebraska law requires all children up to age 6 to ride in a federally approved car seat or booster seat that is appropriate for the child's age, height and weight. Children aged 6 to 18 must be in a seat belt if they are not in a booster seat or other appropriate car seat. Nebraska law prohibits children under age 18 from riding in cargo areas in any vehicle. Drivers and front seat passengers must wear a seat belt or be in a child safety seat.
While car seat laws are up to each state, the approval process of car seats and booster seats is covered by the federal government. Manufacturers do their own testing according to a set of federal standards before putting a car seat on the market. They self-certify that the car seat meets the standards, and then the federal government does spot checks to ensure compliance.
Oregon law, which was updated in 2007, requires all children to ride in a federally approved car seat until they weigh at least 40 pounds. Infants must ride in rear-facing car seats until they reach both one year of age AND 20 pounds. Children must use a booster seat until they are 4'9" tall unless they are at least 8 years old. Oregon strongly recommends that children under age 12 ride in the back seat. All passengers and drivers are required to wear a seatbelt.
Updated in 2011, Georgia law requires children under age 8 to ride in a federally approved car seat or booster seat that is appropriate for that child's height and weight. These children must ride in the back seat unless they are taller than 57 inches, and their car seat or booster seat should be installed and used according to manufacturer's instructions. Officers may stop a vehicle and issue a citation if they observe a seat belt or car seat offense. Drivers can receive a $50 fine and a point against their license per improperly restrained child.
Louisiana law requires babies under one year of age and under 20 pounds to ride in a rear-facing car seat. Babies at least one year up to four years or 20 pounds up to at least 40 pounds must ride in a forward-facing car seat. Children ages four to six who weigh at least 40 pounds up to at least 60 pounds must ride in a belt-positioning booster car seat. Children over age 6 and 60 pounds, if they are not riding in a car seat, must use a lap/shoulder seat belt. Louisiana recommends that children who fall into more than one category by age and weight should be placed in the car seat that gives the most protection in a crash. Therefore, keep children rear-facing as long as possible, in a forward-facing harness to the limit of the car seat, and in a booster seat until the seatbelt fits.