Child Safety Laws New York
Your child should stay in a booster seat until the adult seat belt fits him or her properly. This is usually when your child reaches 4'9" in height and is about 8 years old. Please make sure that your child meets all of the following requirements for a proper seat belt fit:
Effective child passenger safety training is an important tool in the effort to raise awareness and convey accurate technical information about proper occupant restraint usage. Therefore, the Governor's Traffic Safety Committee provides statewide coordination for the Child Passenger Safety Training Program. GTSC maintains an up-to-date schedule of child passenger safety seat check events and classes, as well as a listing of certified technicians and instructors. And we will gladly furnish information to any agency or organization interested in conducting a training course.
New York is a "primary enforcement" state. A law enforcement officer can issue a traffic ticket just for failure to wear a seat belt. A ticket can be issued to the driver who fails to make sure a child passenger is properly secured in a safety seat or with a seat belt. This law also applies to visitors from outside New York State.
You can have your child's car seat checked for correct installation by a certified Child Passenger Safety Technician at a fitting station. To find one near you, go see our list of Child Safety Seat Inspection Stations.
If you are driving in the state of New York, it just makes sense to obey the laws as they relate to child seat safety. If you don’t disobey the law, then you don’t have to worry about being fined or having points added onto your license. The laws in New York aren’t all that complex, and they’re easy to obey, so just do it. Get a child seat and use it. It’s just that easy to be compliant in the state of New York.
New York State law requires all front seat passengers to wear seat belts. Children under the age of 16 must wear seat belts when they are in the front seat or the back seat. Children under the age of four must ride in safety seats. See the information above about safety restraint systems required for children until their 8th birthday. The penalty for a seat belt or car seat violation is a fine of up $50. If the violation is for a person under the age of 16, the driver receives a maximum fine of $100 and three driver violation points upon conviction.
You can call the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's Auto Safety Hotline at 1-888-327-4236 or access the recall list for child safety seats from the NHTSA web site at http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/owners/SearchSafetyIssues.
The Certified Technician Training Course is a standardized four-day course developed by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and now a program of Safe Kids Worldwide and targeting those child passenger safety professionals and advocates who are responsible for educating the public about properly choosing and installing a safety seat and who want to develop the technical competence needed to participate in or conduct child safety seat clinics. This comprehensive course includes hands-on training, as well as two field-based child safety seat checks. After successfully completing this course, participants will be certified to teach child passenger safety awareness training classes and the non-certified technician course.