Child Car Seat Rules Usa
The proper use clause covers installation and other use, as well. You must read and understand how to use the whole car seat according to manufacturer recommendations, from using the top tether to knowing when the car seat expires. If you want some help figuring out the specifics, head to a car seat inspection station or check lane to consult with a certified child passenger safety technician.
Although many state car seat laws do a reasonable job guiding parents in protecting babies and toddlers in the car, you should consider going beyond the requirements in most cases. For example, most states only require that infants stay in a rear-facing car seat until they're 1 year old and 20 pounds. Research and real-world crash data tell us that toddlers are five times safer if they stay rear-facing until they're at least 2 years old, though. There are convertible and 3-in-1 car seats available today that can accommodate a toddler rear-facing until age 3 or 4. Car seat safety experts, and many manufacturers, now recommend keeping your child rear-facing until they reach the limits of the car seat.
The law in Arizona requires all children under the age of eight to be properly restrained in a federally approved child restraint system appropriate for their age, height, and weight. Rear-facing car seats are recommended for children until at least age 2. Children over the age of five should ride in a booster seat until the age of 8 or reaching 4'9" in height. Car seat and seatbelt violations are a primary offense in Arizona, so officers can pull over vehicles and issue citations without other cause.
Hawaii law requires that all children under age four be restrained in a federally approved child safety seat. As of 2007, children ages four through seven must ride in a booster seat or car seat any time they are in a vehicle. Hawaii allows a $25 tax credit per year towards the purchase of proper child safety seats. This state is also progressive in terms of child passenger safety laws, requiring violators to attend a four-hour class in addition to a possible fine of $100 to $500.
It's rare for a car seat to make it to mass market in the U.S. if it doesn't meet the federal standards. This phrase in the state law is more likely to apply to you if you're using a car seat from a different country, you're using something that looks like a car seat but isn't (like a bassinet baby carrier with a handle) or you've tried to build your own car seat.
Updated in 2004, Tennessee law requires that infants under one year of age and weighing less than 20 pounds ride in a rear-facing car seat. If the car seat has a rear-facing weight limit over 20 pounds, you may keep the infant rear-facing beyond one year and 20 pounds, and the state recommends you do so to the limit of the car seat. Children under age 4 must be properly restrained in an approved car seat used according to manufacturer's instructions. Children ages 4 through 8 who measure less than 4'9" in height must use a booster seat. Children under age 16 who are not in a car seat or booster use a vehicle seat belt. The rear seat is recommended for children 12 and under.