Personal Safety

The Latest: Man who took hostages at supermarket in custody

The Latest: Man who took hostages at supermarket in custody

The Latest: Man who took hostages at supermarket in custody – WXOW News 19 La Crosse, WI – News, Weather and Sports | Member Center: The Latest: Man who took hostages at supermarket in custody Posted: Friday, July 20 2018 9:31 PM EDT 2018-07-21 01:31:09 GMT Updated: Saturday, July 21 2018 10:00 PM EDT 2018-07-22 02:00:01 GMT (Watchara Phomicinda/The Orange County Register via AP). San Bernardino County Sheriff’s personnel investigate the scene of a fatal shooting, Friday, July 20, 2018 in Muscoy, Calif. Authorities say a 4-year-old boy accidentally shot and killed his 2-ye… Authorities have arrested the grandfather of a 2-year-old girl accidentally shot and killed by her 4-year-old cousin in Southern California. More >> Authorities have arrested the grandfather of a 2-year-old girl accidentally shot and killed by her 4-year-old cousin in Southern California. More >> Saturday, July 21 2018 12:18 AM EDT 2018-07-21 04:18:42 GMT Updated: Saturday, July 21 2018 9:59 PM EDT 2018-07-22 01:59:58 GMT (AP Photo/Charlie Riedel). People pray outside Ride the Ducks, an amphibious tour operator involved in a boating accident on Table Rock Lake, Friday, July 20, 2018 in Branson, Mo. More than half of the 17 people killed when a tourist boat sank on a Branson lake were members of the same Indiana family, and they likely wouldn’t have been on the ill-fated trip but for a ticket mix-up. More >> More than half of the 17 people killed when a tourist boat sank on a Branson lake were members of the same Indiana family, and they likely wouldn’t have been on the ill-fated trip but for a ticket mix-up. More >> Saturday, July 21 2018 5:31 PM EDT 2018-07-21 21:31:48 GMT Updated: Saturday, July 21 2018 9:59 PM EDT 2018-07-22 01:59:44 GMT (AP Photo/Esteban Felix). Adalicia Montecinos holds her year-old son Johan, who became a poster child for the U.S. policy of separating immigrants and their children, at a restaurant in Yojoa, Honduras, Friday, 20, 2018. Johan arrived in San Pedro Sula… A baby who came to embody the Trump administration’s family separation policy is back with his parents in Honduras after five months. More >> A baby who came to embody the Trump administration’s family separation policy is back with his parents in Honduras after five months. More >> Saturday, July 21 2018 8:03 PM EDT 2018-07-22 00:03:38 GMT Updated: Saturday, July 21 2018 9:59 PM EDT 2018-07-22 01:59:24 GMT (AP Photo/Alex Sanz, File). FILE – In this July 15, 2017, file photo, Christina Korp, Buzz Aldrin’s business manager, speaks at the commemoration for the upcoming anniversary of the 1969 mission to the moon and a gala for the non-profit space education… Apollo 11 moonwalker Buzz Aldrin is expected to be noticeably absent from a gala kicking off a yearlong celebration of the 50-year anniversary of the first moon-landing, even though his foundation is a sponsor and… More >> Apollo 11 moonwalker Buzz Aldrin is expected to be noticeably absent from a gala kicking off a yearlong celebration of the 50-year anniversary of the first moon-landing, even though his foundation is a sponsor and he typically is the star attraction. More >> Friday, July 20 2018 7:20 PM EDT 2018-07-20 23:20:16 GMT Updated: Saturday, July 21 2018 9:59 PM EDT 2018-07-22 01:59:20 GMT A federal judge says the Trump administration is making “great progress” toward meeting a July 26 deadline to reunite more than 2,500 children with their families after they were separated at the border. More >> A federal judge says the Trump administration is making “great progress” toward meeting a July 26 deadline to reunite more than 2,500 children with their families after they were separated at the border. More >> Friday, July 20 2018 12:40 PM EDT 2018-07-20 16:40:49 GMT Updated: Saturday, July 21 2018 9:59 PM EDT 2018-07-22 01:59:16 GMT The New York Times says President Donald Trump’s former personal lawyer secretly recorded him discussing payments to an ex-Playboy model who said she had had an affair with him. More >> The New York Times says President Donald Trump’s former personal lawyer secretly recorded him discussing payments to an ex-Playboy model who said she had had an affair with him. More >> Friday, July 20 2018 3:05 PM EDT 2018-07-20 19:05:07 GMT Updated: Saturday, July 21 2018 9:59 PM EDT 2018-07-22 01:59:12 GMT (AP Photo/David Zalubowski, File). FILE – In this June 8, 2017, file photo, the campus of the Veterans Administration hospital is under construction in Aurora, Colo. The center is set to open Saturday, July 21, 2018, years behind schedule and more than… It’s more than $1 billion over budget and five years behind schedule, but an elaborate new veterans hospital is finally opening in suburban Denver with the promise of state-of-the-art medical care. More >> It’s more than $1 billion over budget and five years behind schedule, but an elaborate new veterans hospital is finally opening in suburban Denver with the promise of state-of-the-art medical care. More >> Saturday, July 21 2018 6:13 PM EDT 2018-07-21 22:13:02 GMT Updated: Saturday, July 21 2018 9:58 PM EDT 2018-07-22 01:58:43 GMT (AP Photo/Charlie Riedel). A man looks at an idled duck boat in the parking lot of Ride the Ducks Saturday, July 21, 2018 in Branson, Mo. One of the company’s duck boats capsized Thursday night resulting in several deaths on Table Rock Lake. A private inspector says he warned the company operating duck boats in Missouri about serious design flaws, less than a year before the accident that killed 17 people. More >> A private inspector says he warned the company operating duck boats in Missouri about serious design flaws, less than a year before the accident that killed 17 people. More >> Saturday, July 21 2018 8:18 PM EDT 2018-07-22 00:18:38 GMT Updated: Saturday, July 21 2018 9:53 PM EDT 2018-07-22 01:53:57 GMT Police believe a man involved in a standoff with officers at a Los Angeles supermarket shot his grandmother and girlfriend before firing at officers during a pursuit, then crashing outside the supermarket and… More >> Police believe a man involved in a standoff with officers at a Los Angeles supermarket shot his grandmother and girlfriend before firing at officers during a pursuit, then crashing outside the supermarket and running inside the store. More >> Friday, July 20 2018 10:31 PM EDT 2018-07-21 02:31:48 GMT Updated: Saturday, July 21 2018 9:53 PM EDT 2018-07-22 01:53:54 GMT (Hawaii County Police Department via AP, File). FILE – This undated file photo provided by the Hawaii County Police Department shows Officer Bronson Kaliloa. Hawaii’s entire Big Island police force was on alert Wednesday, July 18, 2018, for Justin Josh… Authorities in Hawaii say two associates of a man suspected of killing a Big Island police officer have been arrested but the shooter remains at large. More >> Authorities in Hawaii say two associates of a man suspected of killing a Big Island police officer have been arrested but the shooter remains at large. More >> Hawaii volcano boat tours continue after lava injuries
Hawaii tour boat operators plan to continue taking visitors to see lava, but will follow the Coast Guard’s revised policy and stay farther away after an explosion caused molten rock to barrel through the roof of a vessel, injuring 23 people More >>
Hawaii tour boat operators plan to continue taking visitors to see lava, but will follow the Coast Guard’s revised policy and stay farther away after an explosion caused molten rock to barrel through the roof of a vessel, injuring 23 people More >>
LOS ANGELES (AP) – The Latest on an active police situation at a Trader Joe’s in Los Angeles (all times local):
6:50 p.m.
A gunman who led police on a pursuit and then ran into a Los Angeles supermarket, holding bystanders inside hostage, has been taken into custody.
The suspect walked out of the Trader Joe’s in the city’s Silver Lake neighborhood with a cluster of hostages Saturday afternoon and was immediately surrounded by officers. He appeared to be handcuffed when he walked out.
Authorities say the man shot his grandmother and girlfriend earlier in the day. He then fled in a car with officers pursuing him through the city.
The chase ended with him crashing the car outside the store and heading into the store.
Witnesses say employees and customers inside Trader Joe’s ran or jumped out of windows to get to safety.
About three hours later, the man walked out alongside four hostages who had their hands up.
___
5:45 p.m.
A 91-year-old man is among those who escaped from a Los Angeles supermarket after a gunman ran inside.
Don Kohles was walking into the Trader Joe’s in the city’s Silver Lake section Saturday afternoon when a car being chased by police crashed into a pole just outside.
Kohles says police fired at the male driver and shattered the store’s glass doors. Kohles says he and others inside took cover and laid on the floor as the suspect ran inside.
Kohles says the man ran toward the back of the store and yelled at people inside but he never heard any more gunshots.
Kohles he was terrified and others around him were sobbing. After about 30 minutes, he says police came him and rushed them outside.
___
5:05 p.m.
Police believe a man involved in a standoff with officers at a Los Angeles supermarket shot his grandmother and girlfriend before firing at officers during a pursuit, then crashing outside the supermarket and running inside the store.
Officer Mike Lopez, a police spokesman, says the man had fled from the scene after the Saturday afternoon shooting in South Los Angeles.
He says officers tried to pull the man over and were led on a pursuit. Lopez says the suspect shot multiple rounds at officers during the chase but no officers were struck.
At least one officer returned fire.
Lopez says the man crashed outside of a Trader Joe’s supermarket in Silver Lake and then ran into the store.
He says the situation is still unfolding and it isn’t clear if employees are still inside the store.
___
5 p.m.
Bystanders in the area of a Los Angeles Trader Joe’s that is surrounded by police and emergency vehicles say someone fired off gunshots outside.
Lorraine Perrotta, who lives in the Silver Lake neighborhood, says she was getting ready to park her car Saturday afternoon when she heard six gunshots.
Some witnesses took to social media.
Devin Field, a writer for “Jimmy Kimmel Live,” tweeted he was walking inside when a car crashed into the entrance and a man “got out shooting.”
Los Angeles police say there is an “active” incident at the store and that the public should stay clear of the area. Some people could be seen exiting the store through a side window and down a ladder.
____
4:40 p.m.
A large number of police and rescue personnel were responding to a Los Angeles supermarket, amid numerous media reports of possible gunshots.
The Los Angeles Police Department tweeted there was an “active incident” at a Trader Joe’s in the Silver Lake area.
Calls to the department’s public information office were not immediately answered. Reports of gunshots could not immediately be confirmed.
An Associated Press employee who lives in the area reported seeing a crashed car into a utility pole outside the store.
One tweet showed people attempting to exit the Trader Joe’s out a window. Other views from TV helicopters showed people leaving through the front door with their hands up.
No further details were immediately available. Copyright 2018 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. Can’t Find Something? 3705 CTH 25, La Crescent, MN 55947 Phone: 507-895-1919 or 800-947-9969 (WXOW) News tips:

Read More…